Home Page

Curriculum for Wales.

Curriculum for Wales.


The school is collecting the views of children, parents, staff and Governors for their vision for school which will align with the new curriculum which will launch in September 2022.


We are currently trialling and adapting our current themes and activities.


The new curriculum is built on the four purposes of the curriculum for learners to become:


- Ambitious and Capable Learners.

- Enterprising and Creative Contributors.

- Ethically informed Citizens of Wales and the World.

- Healthy and confident individuals.


The new areas of the curriculum are known as Areas of Learning and Experiences which are:

- Health and Wellbeing.

- Science and Technology.

- Language, Literacy and Communication.

- Maths and Numeracy.

- Expressive Arts.

- Humanities.


All of these areas are as important as each other and interlinked. However,

- Language, Literacy and Communication.

- Maths and Numeracy.

- Digital competence,


are to be developed across all areas of the AoLE's.


We currently operate as Foundation Phase (Nursery, Reception, Year 1 and Year 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 - 6).


This will change to:


Progression Step 1: Nursery and Reception.

Progression Step 2: Years 1, 2 and 3.

Progression Step 3: Years 4, 5 and 6.  


Unfortunately, owing to the size of the school our classes don't fall into neat little compartments. The new curriculum is based on a continuum of learning as pupils progress.


Cymeriadau 4 Diben PENDERYN 4 Purposes of the Curriculum

Still image for this video

Paneli Cartwn 4 Diben / 4 Principles Cartoon Panel

Still image for this video